Skip to main content

Federally Qualified Health Centers

If you are looking for a HRSA-supported Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC), you can search for FQHCs by address, state, county and ZIP code at Find a Health Center.

Federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) include all organizations receiving grants under section 330 of the Public Health Service Act, certain tribal organizations, and FQHC Look-Alikes. FQHCs qualify for enhanced reimbursement from Medicare and Medicaid, as well as other benefits. FQHCs must:

  • Serve an underserved area or population
  • Offer a sliding fee scale
  • Provide comprehensive services
  • Have an ongoing quality assurance program
  • Have a governing board of directors

If you are interested in becoming an FQHC see So You Want to Start a Health Center...? A Practical Guide for Starting a Federally Qualified Health Center.


For grant questions
Division of Policy and Development
Bureau of Primary Health Care
Health Resources and Services Administration
Telephone: 301.594.4300

National Association of Community Health Centers Headquarters
Telephone: 301.347.0400

State and Regional Primary Care Associations

For technical, policy, and operational assistance on rural health issues including CMS regulations
CMS Regional Office Rural Health Coordinators

There are more organizations related to Federally Qualified Health Centers in the organizations section.

Frequently Asked Questions